How do I add ethtool settings to a network device permanently?

ethtool can be used to set options for many types of Ethernet devices. The /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-ethX files can have the ethtool settings added to them so that the settings are saved and used every time the device is activated.

For example, the command:
ethtool speed 100 duplex full autoneg off

sets the eth0 device to 100Mbs, full duplex, with auto negotiation off. To have the initialization scripts set this every time the eth0 device is activated, add a line to the /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 file:

ETHTOOL_OPTS="speed 100 duplex full autoneg off"

 

 

source: https://sysadmincorner.wordpress.com/category/linux/networking/

Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
A tcpdump Tutorial and Primer with Examples
Viewed 4686 times since Sun, Jun 17, 2018
Top 20 OpenSSH Server Best Security Practices - good article
Viewed 10221 times since Mon, Oct 1, 2018
Set Up SSH Tunneling on a Linux / Unix / BSD Server To Bypass NAT
Viewed 11043 times since Fri, May 15, 2020
How to run command or code in parallel in bash shell under Linux or Unix
Viewed 2909 times since Tue, Aug 6, 2019
YUM How to use yum command on CentOS/RHEL
Viewed 6707 times since Thu, Oct 25, 2018
How to manage Linux password expiry with the chage command
Viewed 10955 times since Tue, Sep 11, 2018
LVM: Create a new Volume Group
Viewed 1857 times since Sat, Jun 2, 2018
Prosty skaner portów TCP w bash
Viewed 3016 times since Thu, May 24, 2018
Installing and Configuring stunnel on CentOS 6
Viewed 3848 times since Fri, Sep 28, 2018
Fedora 32: Simple Local File-Sharing with Samba CIFS Linux
Viewed 8468 times since Sun, Dec 6, 2020