LVM: Extend an existing Volume Group by adding a new disk

LVM: Extend an existing Volume Group by adding a new disk

# Tested on RHEL 5, 6 & 7

# First, verify the disk/partition to use on the new VG with "fdisk" or any other similar
# tool

DISK=/dev/sdd1
VG=vgdatabase


# Initialize disk under LVM

pvcreate $DISK


# Add disk to VG

vgextend $VG $DISK


# Check

vgdisplay -v $VG
0 (0)
Article Rating (No Votes)
Rate this article
Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Full Name
Email Address
Security Code Security Code
Related Articles RSS Feed
Logowanie za pomocą kluczy Secure Shell
Viewed 1823 times since Thu, May 24, 2018
How setting the TZ environment variable avoids thousands of system calls
Viewed 8635 times since Mon, May 21, 2018
linux unix aix banner /etc/issue
Viewed 973 times since Fri, Aug 3, 2018
debian How to check Debian CVE status using python script
Viewed 1402 times since Sun, Sep 23, 2018
How to use yum-cron to automatically update RHEL/CentOS Linux
Viewed 1447 times since Wed, Oct 17, 2018
What UUIDs can do for you
Viewed 901 times since Tue, Jul 17, 2018
Inxi: Find System And Hardware Information On Linux
Viewed 1327 times since Sat, Jun 2, 2018
Understanding logrotate utility part 1
Viewed 913 times since Fri, Nov 30, 2018
How To Set Up an SSL Tunnel Using Stunnel on Ubuntu
Viewed 2116 times since Fri, Sep 28, 2018
RHEL: Reinstalling Boot Loader on the Master Boot Record (MBR)
Viewed 1958 times since Sun, May 27, 2018