LVM: Extend an existing Volume Group by adding a new disk

LVM: Extend an existing Volume Group by adding a new disk

# Tested on RHEL 5, 6 & 7

# First, verify the disk/partition to use on the new VG with "fdisk" or any other similar
# tool

DISK=/dev/sdd1
VG=vgdatabase


# Initialize disk under LVM

pvcreate $DISK


# Add disk to VG

vgextend $VG $DISK


# Check

vgdisplay -v $VG
0 (0)
Article Rating (No Votes)
Rate this article
Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Full Name
Email Address
Security Code Security Code
Related Articles RSS Feed
WatchDog watchdog.sh script for checking server running
Viewed 1767 times since Tue, Jul 31, 2018
Linux: Disks diagnostic using smartctl
Viewed 682 times since Wed, Jul 25, 2018
CentOS / RHEL 7 : Configuring an NFS server and NFS client Linux NFS
Viewed 450 times since Fri, Feb 21, 2020
Tropienie pożeracza dysku
Viewed 812 times since Thu, May 24, 2018
Linux / UNIX: DNS Lookup Command
Viewed 430 times since Sun, Sep 30, 2018
How to find your System details using inxi
Viewed 1075 times since Sat, Jun 2, 2018
RHCS6: Extend an existing Logical Volume / GFS2 filesystem
Viewed 750 times since Sun, Jun 3, 2018
O’Reilly’s CD bookshelf
Viewed 4551 times since Wed, Jun 27, 2018
RHEL: Reserved space on a ext2/ext3/ext4 filesystem
Viewed 2289 times since Sun, May 27, 2018
15 Linux Yum Command Examples – Install, Uninstall, Update Packages
Viewed 860 times since Thu, Oct 25, 2018