AIX: How to determine which application created the OS core file

# /usr/sbin/lquerypv -h /path/to/core 6b0 64
The output of this command is neat, clean and easy to read.

Here is an example:

# lquerypv -h core 6b0 64
000006B0 7FFFFFFF FFFFFFFF 7FFFFFFF FFFFFFFF …………….
000006C0 00000000 000007D0 7FFFFFFF FFFFFFFF …………….
000006D0 00120000 1312C9C0 00000000 00000017 …………….
000006E0 6E657473 63617065 5F616978 34000000 netscape_aix4…
000006F0 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 …………….
00000700 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000ADB …………….
00000710 00000000 000008BF 00000000 00000A1E …………….

The executable is located between the pipes on the right hand side of the output. In this case, the core was generated by Netscape.

(or)

strings corefilename |grep _=

0 (0)
Article Rating (No Votes)
Rate this article
Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Full Name
Email Address
Security Code Security Code
Related Articles RSS Feed
Authenticate AIX using MS DC’s kerberos servers (Active Directory)
Viewed 2016 times since Thu, Feb 21, 2019
AIX - How to get IP and MAC address of ethernet adapter in AIX
Viewed 23815 times since Fri, Jun 8, 2018
AIX, System Admin Configuring dsh DSH
Viewed 3702 times since Fri, Apr 19, 2019
Unlock User ID in IBM AIX
Viewed 14714 times since Mon, May 28, 2018
AIX Resolving "missing" or "removed" disks in AIX LVM
Viewed 4182 times since Tue, Aug 6, 2019
AIX TCP connection status
Viewed 16224 times since Mon, Jul 29, 2019
SNAP
Viewed 1727 times since Mon, Sep 17, 2018
Firmware Assisted Dump sysdump
Viewed 1794 times since Mon, Jul 16, 2018
Configuring an AIX client with multiple Kerberos realms
Viewed 8625 times since Mon, Jun 25, 2018
Do you Know These 5 Use of V$session View ?
Viewed 99459 times since Thu, Jun 21, 2018